AA Approved Garage Network  Reviews 

19,875
•
TrustScore 4 out of 5

4.0

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Review summary

Created with AI, based on recent reviews

Considering 6,855 reviews, reviewers had a great experience with this company. Reviewers consistently praise the team for being extremely polite, knowledgeable, and delivering fast maintenance work that gets vehicles back on the road quickly. Consumers especially love the convenient collection and drop-off options, noting that these services make arranging car appointments completely stress-free during busy workdays. However, some people mentioned that managing booking schedules and dealing with communication issues through customer service can occasionally cause frustration. Though some reviewers were not happy with unexpected repair costs or lengthy delays when getting their vehicles fixed, many still found overall value in the service provided.

What people talk about most

Service

People report positive experiences with service, highlighting the simple booking process, efficient timing,... See more

Staff

Reviewers highlight positive aspects of staff, frequently describing team members as friendly, knowledgeable,... See more

Booking process

Customers consistently note ambiguous experiences with booking process, as many reviewers highlight that... See more

Price

Clients share ambiguous opinions on price, as some consumers highlight very reasonable quotes and competitive... See more

Customer service

Consumers experience mixed satisfaction regarding customer service, with some reviewers praising prompt... See more

Reviews shaping this summary

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The booking process is simple and fast, there are a few options of service garages. I had requested that my car be collected which is very convenient as it is less disruptive to my work day. On th... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I would have liked to have a report on the service that was done. AA Smart Care didn't contact me at all to let me know what time to pick my car on the day, which was 07/10/2026. I however strang... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Work carried out in a timely and efficient manner as promised. Only issue was an extra charge for more work, yet when queried was removed

Company replied

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The AA mechanic was great. He came on time and did the job well and the car is now working good. Only a minor issue happened that AA sent text messages asking me to drop the car at a garage despite it... See more


Company details

  1. MOT Centre
  2. also in
  3. Auto parts shop
  4. Car service
  5. Mechanic
  6. Towing service
  7. Vehicle Inspection

About AA Approved Garage Network

Written by the company

MOTs, services and repairs brought to you through the convenience of our local AA approved garage network.

AA approved local garages

  • Every one of the garages in our network is audited to ensure it meets our highest quality, service and training standards
  • The garage technicians are expertly trained in petrol, diesel and electric vehicles

Fixed & transparent pricing

  • You’ll know exactly what you’re going to pay, with no hidden extras
  • We’ll chat to the garage to make sure that any additional work needed is accurate, and give you a quote to approve before it’s carried out.

Guaranteed quality of work and repairs

  • We’re so confident in the work, we guarantee all parts and labour for 12 months
  • The garages in our network always fit quality parts, made to the same standard as the original manufacturer equipment
  • All prices, including labour, are checked to make sure they’re accurate

Easy online booking

  • You can book online at a garage local to you, on a date of your choice
  • Book up to 90 days in advance
  • You have access to a UK wide network of local garages.

 


Contact info

4.0

Great

TrustScore 4 out of 5

20k reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

Asks customers to review

This company invites their customers to review, whether positive or negative

At Trustpilot, it's all about human content. This business can also access our AI-assisted response tool which helps them draft replies.

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

4.0

All reviews

(19,875)

6,737 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

The company was good but AA contact was late and confusing.

The company was good. The contact from AA was terrible. Days after the garage and I had completed our business you sent me updates about the repairs I needed and later still told me I could collect my car. Thanks to the efficient garage I had driven hundreds of miles since the repairs and before your contact.

24 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi Elizabeth, we're sorry about the delay in our updates and have passed your feedback on to the team so they can look into it. We're pleased to hear your MOT went well and that you received good service from our approved garage. We hope everything is running smoothly now.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Nice experience but with a lot of room for improvement

The booking and collection/return of the car was really smooth. The service itself looked to be well done when checked. The admin leaves more to be desired as the invoice given left out some work done to the car. Also, disappointingly when I got my car back it smelt of cigarettes

21 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi John, we're sorry to hear about how your car was returned to you and that some items weren't included on the invoice. If you need any help or would like to raise this feedback with us, please get in touch and we'll be happy to look into it.

📞 0330 018 3446
📧 Prestige-Smartcare.queries@theaa.com

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

Great service. Excellent booking system.

24 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

We're over the moon with your fab feedback, Roberto 💛🚗.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

disappointed

contact after mot was 17 hrs later

24 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi Paul, we're sorry to hear about the delay in receiving your MOT result. We'll always do our best to keep you updated as quickly as possible, but we've been particularly busy. We hope everything went smoothly with your MOT and that your car is running well.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Poor communication

Poor communication. Tyre pressure message was not rectified despite me requesting.
Settings were not restored and I found myself with no headlights at night.

23 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi Carmell, we're sorry to hear about the issues with your repairs. We hope you've been in touch with us or the garage regarding the tyres and headlights so these concerns can be properly investigated and put right.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great service

Great service. I could have given this a 5 start but 4 for not being able to speak to anyone on the call for hours over 2 days. Booking services seem pretty straightforward online, but getting to speak to someone on phone, WhatsApp chat was terrible. Sent email and none has been responded to as at the time of leaving this review.

I will be sceptical about using AA again based on how hard it was to get through to speak to anyone when needed.

20 October 2026
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The garage you selected for me were…

The garage you selected for me were very friendly, honest and appreciated me taking my car there. They were bang on time. The car passed the MOT with a couple of advisories that they explained if I needed the work done just give them a ring and they'll get me a quote. No pressure at all. The waiting area also had free coffee and tea and a clean toilet.

23 October 2026
Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Poor communication

You gave me incorrect details of time vehicle needed dropping off. I also had NO further communication from you after I dropped the vehicle off. I had to contact garage to find out if job completed. They had expected you to have contacted me, as did I. Very poor after service from you.

23 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi Richard, we'll always share updates as soon as we can, but we've been particularly busy and we're sorry if there was any delay in keeping you informed. We hope your service went well and that your car is running smoothly now.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Not the best service ive encountered

Following leaving car at garage 8.30am I was informed at 11.15 car failed mot. It took nearly 2 hours for AA to send out info for authorisation to have work done to ensure car passed mot. Also a staff member at the garage was constantly moaning and swearing when I was sat in waiting room for about an hour waiting to collect car

23 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi James, we'll always do our best to get work approvals to you as quickly as possible, but we've been particularly busy and we're sorry for the delay. We hope the work went smoothly, and if you experienced any issues, we hope you were able to share your feedback with us directly so we can look into it.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I use this service each year and usually have a great experience. This year my booking was incorrect, luckily picked up by the garage. Then I needed extra work and AA failed to tell me so I did not find out until my car did not get returned at 6pm, when I called, I was promised a resolution in 20 minutes. This didn't happen, I chased and it took almost 3 hours. The price ended up extortionate but due to time taken I needed my car back and no time to shop around. Garage were very friendly and helpful but considering AA say they will do all the communication, I don't think it's right that I had to make 6 phonecalls throughout the process.

23 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi Mimie, we're sorry to hear things didn't go as smoothly as they usually do and that the issues couldn't be resolved as quickly as hoped. We can see a few repairs were needed, and whenever work is recommended, we'll explain what's required and provide a quote before any work is carried out. We also use high-quality parts that come with a warranty. We hope everything has now been sorted and that your car is running smoothly again.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Shocking customer service

Shocking customer service. Emailed company directly but complaint was ignored. Car was booked for service and MOT. No one contacted me until 5:20pm on the Thursday evening when I received a text to say car wasn't being returned due to failure, tried calling both numbers on the text message suggested to he told one was closed and the other continuously ringing! As it was so late on a Thursday and i required my vehicle back for work i felt i had no choice but to accept the extortionate cost quoted and all other garages were already closed for the night. Absolutely disgraceful and to ignore my email. I will never use them again

22 October 2026
AA Approved Garage Network  logo

Reply from AA Approved Garage Network

Hi Emma, we're sorry to hear about your experience with the service and MOT. We'll always do our best to keep you updated as quickly as possible, but we've been very busy. As you've already raised a complaint and haven't yet received a response, we've chased this up with the team, and they'll be in touch as soon as they can.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful service from the staff

Wonderful service, easy to book, extremely friendly staff. Dropped my car off and headed back to work, they called me once my MOT was complete and I picked up my car with no issues. Extremely efficient.

23 October 2026

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look